Soulmates

Many people believe that the most important thing in life is to find your soulmate, that you need the approval of a romantic partner to be validated as a person. Well, I personally don’t believe in any of that. I believe that soulmates are one of the most important people in your life, but soulmates don’t have to be romantic.  Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 10.18.09 PM

A soulmate is someone who understands you in a special sort of way. Someone you feel a special connection to. For me, my soulmate is my best friend. Let’s call her Sunny for now. Well, Sunny is the type of person where it doesn’t matter how long I’ve known her, or what either of us have done previously, or what we believe in.

Soulmates are the ones you should always go back to, because they’re your rock. They should be the love of your life, platonically, because they really care about you, your life, and your mental state.

For me, she’s caused me to  stop caring about what I am to others, and start caring about how I feel. I’ve stopped caring about finding my romantic soulmate, and started caring about finding and maintaining platonic relationships. And, that’s what soulmates should do; show you how powerful you are without a significant other.

And, I mean, yeah, it could be cool to fall in love one day, but that’s definitely not something we should be worrying about before high school. I’d rather love my best friend, than fall in love with a stranger. So, thank you soulmates, and more importantly, thank you, Sunny, for always being there for me. I hope you know who you are, and I could not live without you.  

IMG_0916.jpg

One thought on “Soulmates

Leave a comment