Be Like Brit and my Haiti trip

Recently, I received news that this May I’m going to get to do something I always dreamed of, I’m going to Haiti. When my sister decided this is what she wanted to do for her senior project, she invited me to go with her.  This has been something I’ve always wanted to do, but never thought I’d get to, the main reason being that my mom has always been weary of letting us go.

This means a lot to me because I’ve been big into community service for as long as I can remember. I really got into it when I started at Worcester Academy. I got into community service because I was noticing how different my school community was to the surrounding neighbourhoods, and how naive a lot of the students were being.

My sister, my mom and I are going to be travelling to Haiti with the “Be Like Brit” foundation in May. The “Be like Brit” foundation’s goals are to help orphans in Haiti. It was started for Britney Gengel, a nineteen year old girl who died in an earthquake, in 2010. The foundation was started by her parents, to complete Britney’s last wish; to open an orphanage. I’m incredibly excited and fortunate to be getting this opportunity to help.

One thought on “Be Like Brit and my Haiti trip

Leave a comment