Why emo/alternative music rocks!

I have a few theories as to why people are so judgemental of emo/alternative music. My first theory is that people automatically affiliate this type of music with goth people, and, because of the media, goth people are viewed as “bad” or “weird” (which is NOT true). Another reason is that people assume all emo music, is “screamo” (hard rock emo music with a lot of scream singing). My final reason is that many people won’t even give the music a chance.

If you really listen to the lyrics, there are some creepier lyrics and some sweet lyrics, but they all have meaning. Like the song “Blood” by My Chemical Romance; “ I gave you blood, blood, blood// I’m the kind of human wreckage that you love!” it may sound creepy at first, but these lyrics are about how the artists put so much of themselves into their work, but the fans are always wanting more. Personally my two favorite lyrics are from “Missing You” by All Time Low, and “I’m Like A Lawyer With The Way I’m Always Trying To Get You Off (Me & You)” by Fall Out Boy.My favorite lyric from “Missing You” is probably “I heard that you’ve been// Self-medicating in the quiet of your room,// Your sweet, suburban tomb.// And if you need a friend, I’ll help you stitch up your wounds.” and from “I’m Like A Lawyer With The Way I’m Always Trying To Get You Off (Me & You)” is “The best way// To make it through// With hearts and wrists intact// Is to realize// Two out of three ain’t bad.” I personally like these songs because I feel a really strong attachment to them.

I started listening to this kind of music when I was at a place in life where I didn’t feel comfortable anywhere, and I kinda hated everything. Honestly, and I know that this sounds cliche,  this type of music really helped me because it showed me that there were others going through the same thing; that I wasn’t the only one. People come and go, but music, music will always be there.

4 thoughts on “Why emo/alternative music rocks!

  1. alexisnotonfire0409

    WARNING: OPINION INCOMING
    Yessss people always hate on emo music without even giving it a chance even though the lyrics are much more meaningful than most other songs. Also, usually the musical part is better too. (all opinion; don’t respond saying I’m wrong because it’s opinion)

    Like

Leave a comment